Fall Garden Update!

I filled the garden with quality soil, peat moss, and manure. I planted the seeds the same day as I filled the garden boxes. Some say it’s best if it has time to sit but I didn’t seem to have a problem.

IMG_5701Beginning of September (left to right: carrots, onions, okra, peppers, butternut squash, zucchini)

IMG_5700 IMG_5306Mid September

IMG_5695Today (the left box I started from seed in that box, the right one three plants had to be transferred from a starter in my kitchen to the box). I can’t believe how the garden has grown! I was going in this fully expecting it to be a total flop the first time but much to my surprise, there is a lot of green going on in that little garden.

IMG_5699

A couple of things I’ve learned:

  • PEAT MOSS. This was recommended to me by a couple of people and I really think it’s one of the keys to my success. It holds in moisture really well and I also haven’t had a crazy problem with pests either.
  • Next time I’ll put in more soil, so that the plants have a little more wiggle room. I’ll probably just build up next time and fill with soil from there.
  • My zucchini is taking over my poor peppers sunlight too, so next time I’ll plant all the bushy plants together (and give them more room) and the others in another planter – or just a little farther away.

IMG_5693This box is the unorganized box. I transplanted these spaghetti squash and tomato plants (both started from seeds) from pots that I planted and started in my kitchen to here. I was really nervous about the tomato plants because they were so fragile but they’re doing pretty good!

IMG_5692

Little blossoms on the zucchini and butternut squash.

IMG_5688

Row of carrots and onions.

I need a suggestion for the little pests that are chewing away at my leaves. It’s not terrible, just a few leaves that it’s gotten a hold of but any suggestions?

I think we have about another month or so before the harvest – until then we wait…and try to keep it alive. 🙂

Leave a Reply

