Growin’ Groceries

I love to buy and eat locally grown, organic produce but it is so expensive. So, I decided to to try my hand at gardening. First, I started my compost with this handy guide. 

Then, I ordered all of my seeds from Southern Exposure Seed Exchange –  side note: scroll through #southerngardenclub on Instagram, it’s so fun to see a little community of people growing their own food -what I love about the Southern Exposure Seed Exchange is that you can choose from an extensive selection of vegetables, herbs, flowers, and more. Each option has what kind of temperature they do best in, their flavor profile, and when to grow them. I loved using this website from start to finish.
After some research (the University of Florida has incredible resources available for gardening in Florida – you can find the step by step guide here and info on soil preparation here), I ordered:

  • Calabrese Broccoli
  • Alabama Blue Collards
  • Scarlet Nantes Carrots
  • Perfection Sweet Pepper
  • Amy’s Sugar Gem Tomato
  • Speghetti Squash
  • Butternut Winter Squash
  • California Early Softneck Garlic
  • Granex Dry Bulb Onion
  • Bloomsdale Spinach

  
A little ambitious for a little beginner, I know, but I’m all in!

Up next, we are building a garden box (read: Justin is building me a garden box). We will share what we find works best. Then – we’ll be ready just in time to plant in early fall. I welcome any advice that you have for someone who has never gardened before and is diving right in!

One thought on “Growin’ Groceries

  1. How exciting! I think it’s wonderful you are growing your own food. You are going to love seeing your seeds sprout! I get giddy every time! Best wishes to you and your garden! Have a lovely day, Koko šŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

