Creamy Power Smoothie

This is my go-to nowadays. It packs everything I need to get me going in the morning and is a great lunch replacement too. So creamy. So good.

photo 5

I used to get a smoothie similar to this for $9 from my favorite local juice bar every once in a blue moon because..well..it was $9 for a smoothie. But, I loved it because it’s the perfect on-the-go meal replacement.  So I decided to remake it with some moderation and it costs me about $3 per smoothie. Here it is!

Recipe:
2 tbsp ground flax
1 scoop protein (like this)
1 tbsp cacao powder (like this)
1.5 cups vanilla almond milk*
1 big handful of spinach
1 frozen banana
6 frozen strawberries

Combine all ingredients into a blender. Blend until completely smooth.

*You can sub regular almond milk here but I would add a bit of honey to add a little sweetness that you miss from the vanilla.

I started buying fruit in bulk when it was on sale and freezing it so I just keep a crazy supply of frozen bananas in strawberries in the freezer now. Also, you can stock up on the protein, flax, and cacao powder and it’ll last forever – I’ll only have to stock up on those things once every couple of months. Now, I just need to get in the habit of making almond milk! I’ve yet to try it.

2 thoughts on “Creamy Power Smoothie

  1. Pingback: Week 1: Meal Plan, Grocery List, and Meal Prep Instructions | Caitlin Neal

  2. Pingback: Week One! Meal Plan, Grocery List, and Meal Prep Instructions | Caitlin Neal

Leave a Reply

